Visa Free Entry to Bali - Is Your Country On The List?


90 countries now have visa free status. Check if yours is on the list?

In March 2015 Indonesian Immigration authorities announced that from April 2015 visas will be waived for citizens of 30 other countries, namely Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Poland, Russia, Qatar, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom and the United States.

On June 12, 2015 the Indonesian Government announced that it formally waives visa requirements for another 45 countries for 30 day visits.

On September 19, 2015, Indonesian authorities released a list of additional countries and regions that would be eligible for visa free travel to Indonesia.

The Updated  Visa Free list from October 2016

Tourists holding passports from the following 90 countries and territories are eligible to enter and remain in Indonesia without a visa for 30 days. The visa free facility does not allow the change into other permits or visa extension.

 Algeria – Angola – Argentina – Austria - Azerbaijan

 Bahrain – Belarus – Belgium – Brunei - Bulgaria

 Cambodia – Canada – Chile – China – Croatia – Cyprus - Czech Republic

 Denmark – Dominica – Ecuador – Egypt - Estonia

 Fiji – Finland – France – Germany – Ghana - Greece

 Hong Kong – Hungary – Iceland – India – Ireland - Italy

 Japan – Jordan – Kazakhstan – Kuwait - Kyrgyzstan

 Laos – Latvia – Lebanon – Liechtenstein – Lithuania -Luxembourg

 Macau – Malaysia – Maldives – Malta – Mexico – Monaco – Morocco - Myanmar

 Netherlands - New Zealand – Norway - Oman

 Panama - Papua New Guinea – Peru – Philippines – Poland - Portugal

 Qatar – Romania - Russia

 San Marino - Saudi Arabia – Seychelles – Singapore - Slovakia - Slovenia

 South Africa - South Korea – Spain – Suriname – Sweden - Switzerland

 Taiwan – Tanzania – Thailand - Timor-Leste – Tunisia - Turkey

 United Arab Emirates - United Kingdom - United States

 Vatican City – Venezuela - Vietnam


Airports of Entry

Hang Nadim Airport

Juanda International Airport

Kualanamu International Airport

Ngurah Rai International Airport

Soekarno–Hatta International Airport

Seaport of Entry

Batam Center (Batam)

Sekupang (Batam)

Sri Bintan Pura (Tanjung Pinang)

Tanjung Uban

Visa on Arrival (VoA)

Nationals of the following 4 countries may apply for a Visa on Arrival for a length of stay of 30 days by paying US$35 at 20 airports, 23 seaports and the Entikong land crossing.





Entry points



Banda Aceh, Aceh - Sultan Iskandar Muda Airport (BTJ)

Medan, North Sumatra - Kuala Namu Airport (KNO)

Pekanbaru, Riau - Sultan Syarif Kasim II Airport (PKU)

Padang, West Sumatra - Minangkabau International Airport (PDG)

Batam, Riau Islands - Hang Nadim International Airport (BTH)

Palembang, South Sumatra - Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin II Airport (PLM)


Jakarta - Soekarno–Hatta International Airport (CGK)

Jakarta - Halim Perdanakusuma Airport (HLP)

Surabaya, East Java - Juanda International Airport (SUB)

Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta - Adisucipto International Airport (JOG)

Surakarta/Solo, Central Java - Adisumarmo International Airport (SOC)

Bandung, West Java - Husein Sastranegara International Airport (BDO)

Semarang, Central Java - Achmad Yani International Airport (SRG)

Lesser Sunda Islands

Denpasar, Bali - Ngurah Rai International Airport (DPS)

Mataram, West Nusa Tenggara - Lombok International Airport (LOP)

Kupang, East Nusa Tenggara - El Tari Airport (KOE)


Makassar, South Sulawesi - Hasanuddin International Airport (UPG)

Manado, North Sulawesi - Sam Ratulangi International Airport (MDC)


Balikpapan, East Kalimantan - Sultan Aji Muhamad Sulaiman Airport (BPN)

Pontianak, West Kalimantan - Supadio Airport (PNK)

Seaports - harbours

Riau Islands

Batam - Sekupang, Citra Tritunas, Nongsa, Marina Teluk Senimba, Batam Center

Tanjung Uban- Bandar Bintan Telani Lagoi, Bandar Sri Udana Lobam

Tanjung Pinang - Sri Bintan Pura

Tanjung Balai Karimun - Tanjung Balai Karimun

North Sumatra

Medan - Belawan

Sibolga - Sibolga


Dumai - Yos Sudarso

West Sumatra

Padang - Teluk Bayur


Jakarta - Tanjung Priok

Central Java

Semarang - Tanjung Mas


Badung - Benoa

Karangasem - Padang Bai

North Sulawesi

Bitung - Bitung

South Sulawesi

Makassar - Soekarno-Hatta

Pare-Pare - Pare-Pare

East Nusa Tenggara

Maumere - Maumere

Kupang - Tenau


Jayapura - Jayapura

Border crossing overland

Entikong, West Kalimantan - Entikong Border Crossing

Visa before arrival

Nationals who are not eligible for visa free or VOA need to apply for a visa at an Indonesian Embassy or Consulate.

Nationals from 10 following countries require an approval from Immigration Office in Indonesia before travelling for Business, Tourist and Social Visits purposes (this policy is called Indonesian Calling Visa).

Afghanistan – Cameroon – Guinea – Israel – Liberia – Niger – Nigeria - North Korea – Pakistan - Somalia

Holders of non-ordinary passports issued by the following countries are allowed to visit Indonesia without a visa:

 Afghanistan D S - Argentina D O - Austria D S - Azerbaijan D S

 Bangladesh D O - Belarus D O - Bosnia and Herzegovina D S - Brazil D O - Bulgaria D S

 China D S - Croatia D S - Colombia D O S - Cuba D O

 Ecuador D O Sp - France D S - Georgia D S - Hungary D S

 India D O - Iran D S - Kazakhstan D S - Kyrgyzstan D S

 Macedonia D O - Mexico D O - Moldova D O S -Mongolia D O

 Nicaragua D O S - North Korea D O S

 Pakistan D O - Paraguay D O - Poland D S - Portugal D S Sp - Russia D S

 Slovakia D S - Slovenia D S - South Korea D O - Sri Lanka D O -Suriname D S - Switzerland D S

 Timor-Leste D O S - Tunisia D Sp - Turkey D S Sp

 United Arab Emirates D S - Uruguay D O - Venezuela D S

D — diplomatic passports

O — official passports

S — service passports

Sp — special passports

General visa requirements

Passports must be valid for at least 6 months from the date of arrival and holder must have a valid return ticket. The immigration officer at the port of entry may ask the passenger to produce more documents, such as hotel reservation and proof of finances.



View All

Local News & Articles

Create & Share your Guide to Bali with friends and family!

Add your recommended places to visit by browsing the website and pressing the icon.

Create your own guide of favourite 'must see' places

Earn your Local Expert badge by Sharing your guides with others

Get your guide seen by submitting it to the Mini Guides section

Login / Register Your Free Account
View All

Mini Guides

We Are Part of the My Guide Network!

My Guide Bali is part of the global My Guide Network of Online & Mobile travel guides.

We are now in 120+ Destinations and Growing. If you are interested in becoming a local travel partner and would like to find out more then click for more info about our Website Business Opportunity.

Nearby Destinations